Skip to content

Michael Poole - Billingham

10 Town Square, Billingham, County Durham, TS23 2LY, North East, UK, TS23

Claimed branch
4.7 1,185 reviews

Recent reviews

A selection of reviews, highest rated first. Not every review may be shown.

Lynn Google

Hidden fees and zero service. Predatory fees and targeting international students. Avoid Homebox. I paid £723 for a 3-month stay at Bloom East Apartments (D0813). I moved out in December and I’m still fighting for my refund 5 months later. They are refusing to refund £195 by claiming "hidden fees": a £135 early termination fee and an extra £60 billing fee. These were never made clear for my short-term stay. On top of that, their service is a joke. They didn’t pay my water bill on time, leading to a debt collection notice in my name. Now they’ve told me to deal with the electricity company myself because they can’t be bothered to fix their own mistakes. It is clear they target international students, expecting us not to understand the system or fight back against these unfair charges. This is predatory and feels like blatant discrimination. Even the "agreed" refund £330.3 hasn't arrived. Jenni and the team just hide behind fine print. If you are a student or a new tenant, stay away. They take your money and disappear.

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hello Lynn, Thank you for sharing your concerns. We take your feedback seriously and would like to clarify the current status of your account. Regarding your final balance, we have been in proactive contact with the energy supplier on four separate occasions to secure your final statement. As the supplier has not yet issued this, we have offered to release your current credit balance to you now, with the understanding that the final utility bill will need to be settled once it is produced. Regarding the charges mentioned, these are standard administrative costs associated with the early closure of a 12-month agreement. We are transparent about these terms at the start of every contract. We apologise for the delay you’ve experienced and for the frustration regarding the water account. We are committed to resolving the outstanding balance with you. We will get in touch with you directly so we can look into and resolve this for you.
Ines Boussebaa Google

Do NOT use this service. We set up our utilities through Homebox and have now moved out of the property. After moving out, we realised the following: we have an overdue bill with Thames Water; we were owed over 600 pounds from our …

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hi Ines, I can see that you are now authorised to speak on the account and that our … More
Alex Chapman Google

been trying to call for a week and no answer what so ever. there scammers my electricity isn’t being payed!! do not go to them when you try call you get put through to a AI!!!! …

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hi Alex, I'm sorry to hear that you haven't been able to get through to us. I can't … More
Jamie Strudwick Google

Would give 0 stars if possible where to begin with this company. Communication via phone is impossible they will never answer so you are forced …

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hello Jamie, thank you for your patience whilst we resolved this for you. Should you need anything further, please feel free to reach out to the team directly.
D J Google

What a horrendous company!! I've so far sent 4 requests (2 via right move and 2 directly through their website) to contact me for a viewing on a property in Shrivenham. As a cash buyer I am in a good position to purchase property, however they have not bothered to contact me! I'm sure the vendor would love to know about their utter incompetence to sell a property! I will avoid at all costs any property for sale with this joke of an estate agent, and will most definitely NEVER sell a property with them!

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hi DJ, We are sorry to hear of your experience. Please be assured that we would not knowingly ignore a viewing request, and furthermore we cannot find anything on our systems in relation to your requests. We would love to get to the bottom of this and help you in your property search. Please contact the branch manager charlieberry@richardjames.uk
Debbie Moss Google

Like many long-standing customers, we have relied on this software for over 12 years. As mentioned previously, the customer service was once excellent; however, its quality has noticeably declined over the last year or so. I presume this was due to the recent exodus of a number of the key staff. Our primary concern now is the apparent shift in focus toward introducing numerous bolt-ons, presumably to drive additional revenue, at the expense of maintaining and improving the stability of the core system. Today, we once again experienced significant slowdowns at the start and end of the working day, which directly disrupted our operations and prevented us from working efficiently. We previously attempted to transition to an alternative provider, but due to the poor structure and limited export capabilities of the backend data, we were unable to extract critical information. This ultimately resulted in a failed migration attempt. We would welcome a renewed focus on system performance, reliability, and data portability, as these are fundamental to our confidence in the platform which, I'm afraid to say at the moment is at an all time low. update 3/3/26 System down again - 3rd time in the last 2 weeks it has been unresponsive. We haven't been able to do anything for 10 minutes so far and of course can't get through to the support team. It's time Glen realised how badly these outages are affecting our businesses and turns his attention back from making as much money as he can to keeping his core system working - before he loses swathes of his existing customers. Which he will. So many of us are fed up right now.

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hi Debbie, Thank you for your honest feedback — 12 years with us means a lot, and we genuinely value your loyalty. Performance issues are unusual for us, and we're sorry you've experienced some recently — our track record over 12 years speaks for itself. We're in a period of transition, but we're committed to getting back to our best. We've recently appointed a new Operations Manager and are expanding our support team to bring service levels back to the standard you'd expect from us. We're confident you'll start to see those improvements reflected in your day-to-day experience.
Jordan Beagle Google

AWFUL agency. They DO NOT leave you alone. They do not unsubscribe your details - they will email, call and text you forever and a day once you give them a contact. All they do is simply email/call you from one of their other agents. I have reported them to the ICO multiple times but nothing is done.

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hello Jordan, We completely understand that receiving contact after asking to be removed from communications would be frustrating. However, that is not what has happened here. You replied to one of our property emails stating you were “VERY interested” in a house in Tadcaster and asked us to contact you, providing your phone number in the process. Naturally, when someone contacts us asking to be called about a property they say they are very interested in, we will attempt to respond to that enquiry. Following that call, you then complained about being contacted, despite the fact that the enquiry and request for contact came directly from you. For clarity: The contact made was in direct response to your own enquiry asking us to call you. We have not continued to contact you since. We take data protection and ICO regulations extremely seriously and operate strict processes to ensure people can unsubscribe or be removed from communications at any time. If you no longer wish to have any interaction with Preston Baker, we of course fully respect that and wish you all the best with your property search elsewhere. The Preston Baker Team
Lex Google

Why do Estate Agents feel the need to compulsively lie? This is what I asked myself after there had been no progress since offer accepted and just repeated messages from Natalie that 'the seller had a cold' and 'the seller was on holiday' …

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Thank you for your message. We take feedback very seriously; however, we do not recognise your name and are … More
Steven Chell Google

Absolutely dreadful experience. Staff lied to both us (buyer) and the sellers after they were late informing us the offer had been accepted, and doubled down rather than apologise after being caught out. They charged the sellers close to …

Chris Wilkins Google

After reading all the recent reviews I can't but agree with the comments. I have been waiting over 4 days for a reply to an email. tried calling numerous times only to be told that there is a high volume of calls, this has been the same for about a year now. We have periods of time where the software crashes and we are have staff sat around waiting for the issue to be resolved with no communication from AgentOs

Reply from Michael Poole - Billingham: Hi Chris, First of all we are so sorry you experiencing difficulties with agentOS. Performance issues are unusual for us, and we're sorry you've experienced some recently — our track record over the years speaks for itself. We are currently in a period of transition, but we're committed to getting back to our best. We've recently appointed a new Operations Manager and are expanding our support team to bring service levels back to the standard you'd expect from us. We're confident you'll start to see those improvements reflected in your day-to-day experience.

About Michael Poole - Billingham

Michael Poole Estate Agents are passionate about our town and have an intimate, unrivalled knowledge of the area. Our town centre has everything you’d expect and a few things you might not! For more than 50 years now, the town centre has played host to the Billingham International Folklore Festival. Dancers and musicians come from around the world to perform traditional and contemporary dance and Billingham Forum Theatre has seen more than its fair share of big names perform on stage. sShould you be searching for an estate agent in Billingham Wolviston, Wynyard and Hartlepool to put your property on the market our Sales Agents will be happy to help and arrange a free market appraisal? If you are a landlord considering letting your property in Billingham, Wolviston, Wynyard and Hartlepool or need advice our ARLA qualified Lettings Agents are on hand to support you.

Website: http://www.michaelpoole.co.uk

Memberships and portals

Association of Residential Letting Agents Guild of Professional Estate Agents National Association of Estate Agents Property Ombudsman Sales Property Ombudsman Lettings Relocation Agent Network Ombudsman Services onthemarket rightmove

Marketing

  • Email / E-shot
  • Floor Plan
  • For Sale / To Let Board
  • 360 Photography
  • Professional Photos
  • Smart Viewing
  • Social Media Campaign
  • Video
  • Accompanied Viewings
  • Sales Progression
  • Manage / Negotiate
  • Windows Display

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy & you agree to the site's terms and conditions