Skip to content

M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard

27-29 Hockliffe Street, Leighton Buzzard, LU7 1EZ, UK, LU7

4.6 631 reviews

Recent reviews

A selection of reviews, highest rated first. Not every review may be shown.

Kasia Hines Google

As a previous tenant, would certainly not recommend.

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Kasia, having checked our systems we can not find your name under our system as a tenant at any properties. If you wish to discuss your review please call us on 01525371997 or email lettings@mandmproperties.co.uk.
Lydia Preston Google

Called separately about three different rental properties - not once asked for my details/if they could offer assistance or what it is I am looking for to offer me alternatives or properties coming on the market. In addition properties kept online despite not being available/ let agreed on.

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Lydia, We are sorry to see your feedback and have investigated this. … More
CombatWaffle Google

Possibly the worst Lettings Agent I have come across. Broken window in the kitchen that won't open took months to fix. Thus cooking in the kitchen during the summer heat was like living in hell. …

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Please see our response under the review for Sandra K as this is the same property and same tenancy. … More
Aaron Nash Google

This agency is has an absolute disgraceful service they are in no hurry to get repairs completed to the property. They lie about things being done to the property before you move in. Trying to get hold of the person that responds to emails …

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Aaron, We are sorry to hear you felt the need to review our company the way you have. … More
Daniel Healey Google

Do not buy a house with these guys. We bought a house and was lied to constantly. Was promised a quick purchase and the land registry had not even been submitted for the new build. Was made promises of 6 to 8 weeks and it took 6 months.

Sandra K Google

We moved out of a rental earlier this year, They told us the bath is supposed to have a loose panel and never fixed it (it was rusty and unhinged). They never made the flow of the shower better, it flowed like someone was drooling out of it and the water was never EVER hot and they never replaced the shower seal (it was disgusting). My condolences to anyone who is moving into that 2nd floor flat. The heating never got hot, it made us very sick in the winter months, when I was in hospital for an illness I recovered faster not being in the frigid flat than I did inside it. We were given a near 300 pound cleaning fee when we left, as we did not clean to a 'professional' standard. We were told that the lights needed replacing even though they blew Everytime you turn them on. It took them a week to fix a toilet without a flush making us use the loo elsewhere, they told us if the electric heaters don't work and if it was the previous tenants fault we are to pay for the damages... Like??? The washing machine was mouldy from the previous tenant and as above if it was the prior tenants fault, it is now ours. So I had to clean it... Not very professional I say. They also took MONTHS to fix our broken window, going from quote to quote it was horrible when there was a heatwave. When we moved out they threatened us with incoming tenants to pay the cleaning fee ASAP. I don't understand why that is my issue if I had left the property a month prior. They were courteous when we began renting and cruel when we decided to leave. Threatening us with fees to cancel our tenancy even with notice. Towards the end prospective tenants came in when they wanted with only a call a few days before - no text so if you forgot that's tough. I would ask anyone renting to read the small print as they never helped us understand what we were getting into.

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Sandra K, Thank you for your review, of which all feedback is acknowledged and investigated where needed. It is of course disappointing to see the 1-star review and will outline my response below. Having overviewed your tenancy file, I can see that your review has been triggered by the end of tenancy checkout process, as all maintenance issues that you have included in your review were raised and dealt with during your tenancy – with no complaints having been made by you at those times. For clarity, maintenance issues can’t always be resolved instantly unfortunately. We must follow a process of referring to a landlord, gaining instruction and then instructing a contractor. The checkout process is carried out against your original inventory and schedule of condition, for fairness & accuracy. Along with the photos that accompanied that inventory. Photos from the end of your tenancy, which you were provided with also, show the requirement for cleaning due to the condition in which you returned the property, this was vastly different to how you provided the property. The cost for the cleaning required was sourced from professional companies who attended the property in person to provide an accurate quote. You were advised that the landlord had a new tenant lined up, and that the cleaning work required will need to be done by a certain date, whether you agreed to it or wished to dispute this via the TDS scheme, to prevent the landlord having to delay or possibly lose the incoming tenant. This would have then given the landlord grounds to seek compensation from you due to the new tenancy not starting. This was not a threat but us being completely transparent with you regarding the situation and what could have occurred. All viewings are arranged with tenants by phone call or email, and we do not access properties without permission. I strongly refute your claims that we are cruel or threatening in anyway. We carry out over 200 checkouts each year which are all carried out fairly & correctly with the original inventory and photos. Had the property been left by you in line with your inventory & schedule of condition then there wouldn’t have been any need for cleaning to take place, but unfortunately this was not the case. All tenants are provided with a tenant’s guide, tenancy agreement and inventory at the start of their tenancy, this outlines what is required from them throughout the tenancy and at the end. As stated above, it is disappointing to see that you felt the need to leave a 1-star review, as I do not believe that this justified based on the overall management of your tenancy but born out of your own frustration in relation to how you returned the property and being held responsible for this. Which was the right process to follow and would be the same for any tenancy checkout. I wish you all the best for the future. For clarity, this response also acts as a response to the review left by CombatWaffle, as this refers to the same tenancy.
S K Google

We moved out of a rental earlier this year, They told us the bath is supposed to have a loose panel and never fixed it (it …

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Sandra K, Thank you for your review, of which all feedback is acknowledged and … More
Garry Sullivan Google

In recent years I’ve been through cancer and a divorce and have had to enter into an IVA as a result. I made several enquiries to this company as I am now in remission and earning £55k per year with a guarantor who earns £70k per year. I made an enquiry to this letting company for a property that was well within my budget only to be called by a member of staff to be told that because I wouldn’t pass their credit checks there is no point in applying for any more properties. Social credit scoring is already with us people and you should be very wary of companies that refuse to use discretion and common sense because it WILL affect you very soon. The individual who called me was very sympathetic and actually very nice, but the lack of empathy and compassion from this company and private landlords in general is absolutely disgusting.

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Mr Sullivan, We note your review of our company, and we regret you felt the need to review our local business is such a way. A business that has been in Leighton Buzzard since 1986 and one of the very few remaining independent small companies. Unfortunately, given the severely high demand for properties in this area and generally across the UK property market, landlords are extremely cautious on which applications are progressed and those that are not. Sadly ,we find ourselves in an era where landlords are leaving the sector, and the result is less properties to let. The majority of Landlords are now covered by rent guarantee and legal protection insurance which does require the tenant to pass through the referencing process, ensuring that a landlords insurance remains valid and they are protected. We as a company also uphold the most stringent referencing criteria and due to the lack of supply this high standard has increased as supply decreases. We understand the frustration you are experiencing with trying to find a rental property and sympathise with this, unfortunately you won’t be the only prospective tenant in a situation where an IVA (Involuntary financial agreement) is restricting them. With an outstanding IVA, it is a failure of the referencing process which does mean that unfortunately very few of our clients would be able to accept an application from yourself as it leaves them unprotected with their insurance. A guarantor does not necessarily mean you will pass the reference checks either, as factors surrounding your IVA like how much it’s for, when it began and how long it has left to run will have an effect. I was pleased to see that you mention our colleague was very sympathetic which is great to hear, as we do not like turning away applicants, but we must be as clear and transparent as possible with the processes involved with letting a property. The last thing we would want to do is offer false hope or waste anyone’s time. I would also point out that many rental agents and property managers, in this era of low supply and high demand, are processing tenant enquiries by email only. We still believe in the human touch but of course this sometimes means we receive reviews like yours, that’s a shame. I do feel your email is more aimed at general referencing policies, the UK market and PRS as whole as opposed to just your recent interaction as it sounds as though you are having the same issue elsewhere. Hopefully, you will have success imminently. As I have mentioned, we regret not being able to help you for the reasons above but wish you well with your search for a rental property. M&M Properties
Ahmed Razak Google

Was with M&M Leighton Buzzard for 7 years. Although I negotiated an initial deal with them to have a discounted fully managed service, there fees kept creeping up over the years; So I finally decided to self manage the property (Their …

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Mr Razak, We are sorry to read you review some 3+ years after we ceased managing your … More
A Google User Google

In recent years I’ve been through cancer and a divorce and have had to enter into an IVA as a result. …

Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Mr Sullivan, We note your review of our company, and we regret you felt the need to review … More

About M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard

No about information yet.

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy & you agree to the site's terms and conditions