We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy & you agree to the site's terms & condition

The Property Buying Company

A selection of reviews/testimonials by highest rating
(in some cases, not all reviews/testimonials will be displayed)
1.00 /5

Initially the team could not be friendlier or more helpful. We knew we would receive an offer significantly lower than going through an estate agent but in the interest of a quick sale agreed a price with them. Once we had all the paperwork and survey completed they have stopped all contact. No one is answering the phone and they have stopped replying to emails. We have been told this is a tactic to get us so frustrated we will accept an even lower offer. Ain’t going to work. Now taking legal advice on ending the contract as they are uncontactable. Really annoyed and disappointed. For once I’d like someone to actually perform the service they say they will. Update: they have promised to contact today. Now to see if they try to drop the price. Standby Update number two: as the team have replied their valuation came in low and we decided to part ways. My issue was not this but the lack of communication in between the start of the process and the disappointing news at the end of the process. It isn’t a problem if there are delays, the problem is the fact no one could be bothered to explain that and it became almost impossible to get anyone to answer emails or calls. Just the simple courtesy of getting in touch if you have promised to do so would have been enough, even if just to say you were waiting on more info or whatever. To us it felt that once we had agreed the sale in principle we became of no interest or value to you as you had our custom should you want it. I must also strongly stress that the review rating has nothing to do with the sale falling through as the rating was given before we reached that point.

Reply from agent

Hello Caz, Thank you firstly for the compliments around our property consultant team, we'll be sure to pass them on. Now to address what happened. We agreed to purchase your property at a price of £244k, based on our initial valuations, which we always try and be as accurate as possible on. As mentioned, we are lower than you may achieve on the open market being trade buyers, so we did value your property higher than our purchase price. As part of the process we receive valuations, which is made clear, and our offer is subject too. These unfortunately came back far lower than we had hoped, and that we valued your property at initially, with a value between £226,666-£246,666. Due to this valuation we where unable to proceed with the purchase of your property, but we did suggest we may be able to find a solution with our alternative services – however at this point you wanted to relist your property with your local agent, at a reduced price. There was delays within the process as you rightly mention, which was as much to our frustration as yours. This was caused by the management pack being released, which took a significant amount of time and is completely out of our control. We couldn’t fully discuss or potentially proceed with the property until all the information was pulled together. We’re sorry that we couldn’t purchase your property and that the valuations didn’t quite meet what we both expected. If you do want to explore any of our alternative solutions, please do feel free to come back and we’ll do our best to help. We wish you all the best & do hope you manage to sell. Kind Regards, TPBC

1.00 /5

Wasted 3 months of my life dealing with these locusts,was told i could sell my property before christmas.had the surveyors out etc on 9th december and it took them until the 9th February to tell me my property had long standing structural movement and i would not even clear the outstanding mortgage. Went straight to the Advisory who know a lot more about what im posting here as they have every conversation we had. I hope people read this and if i could give 1 bit of advice i would say swerve these like the plague and go with a recommended company through THE ADVISORY and you will have a stress free sale of your house just like i have now had and it took only 25 Days and not 3+ months. THEY DONT HAVE THE MONEY EITHER TO BUY YOUR PROPERTY,THEY LOOK FOR INVESTORS TO BUY IT. BEWARE.

Reply from agent

Hello, Well this looks like a rather suspicious review, considering we don't have a Grace Morris in our system at all & the mention of a competitor several times, along with a few unique selling points. We do have the money to buy property, we buy several properties every month. We do also have alternative options like investors, the open market and auction to name a few. If you are a genuine customer, we would love to provide a more detailed response, if you could please contact us at help@thepropertybuyingcompany.co.uk and provide us with your details we'll gladly look further into it. Best wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

STEER WELL CLEAR! The Property Buying company do not buy homes with there own cash - well not from my bad experience with them. Before you sign up with The Property Buying Company my best possible advice is click the 1 star reviews and take note of those rather than the 5 star reviews. The 5 star reviews are generally from people who have had an initial call with Grant Bishop not from people who have gone through the full process. My experience with the Property Buying Company: - The initial call to Grant was very positive and a lady came out to visit my property to provide a valuation - In November 2023 I signed up with The Property Buying Company with a completion date of 22.12.2023 - January 2024 chase chase chase - getting ghosted by Adam (Commercial Director) - February 2024 and still no completion and told "your near the top of the queue" "we are nearly getting it over the line" - 6th February I inform TPBC that I am no longer selling to them. I signed up to another house buying company and within a day of signing up to the other company Adam was straight on the phone trying to apologise for all the delays and coming out with excuse after excuse and asking me if I still wanted to sell to them they would get it over the line.......No! after reading other similar reviews of being strung along why would I! TPBC basically sign you up, tie you in, put a unilateral notice on your property with the land registry and try to find an investor for your property, if you are lucky they might find you one, if you are not so lucky, like many others your just be strung along for months. There are only a couple of genuine cash property buying companies out there who buy properties with there own money, TPBC are not one of them. Your best to put your property on the open market and drop the value if you cannot sell at market value. Unfortunately the quick buying house market is unregulated and companies like TPBC thrive on it, there are so many false claims and mis-advertising on there website. I hope you find this honest review useful.

Reply from agent

Hello Stuart, You also shared your review on Trustpilot, so we'll share our reply to that one here: Hello Stuart, Firstly we’re sorry for the delayed reply, we wanted to make sure we got all the facts straight before doing so as there were a few complexities within your process. To mention your point about our reviews, you will see a mix of customers in all stages of the journey throughout both our 1 & 5 star reviews. Reviews are always something we take seriously, and we want to know at all parts of the journey on selling your home with us what’s gone right & what’s gone wrong, so we can continue to improve our service for future customers. Now on your highlighted points, as you rightly mention in your timeline of events there was a significant delay. What you neglected to mention was that the property was unmortgageable due to spray foam, which you had been aware of before agreeing to sell to us, but did not divulge in any of our conversations. Regardless, these miscommunications happen and we wanted to proceed but by leveraging an alternative investor service that we offer to help you achieve your original agreed price, as with the issue that came to light it didn’t quite work for us. At which point you decided that you wanted to explore other options, stating that you wanted to carry out the work to the property yourself to try and get a higher price. That’s fair enough, and we agreed to go our separate ways on this. We truly feel that we provided all the support we could given the situation – we always make a point before anyone signs a contract with ourselves that being honest and transparent, divulging all the information about the property beforehand is paramount in ensuring that we can provide an accurate offer and don’t have to disappoint you on receipt of the survey. We also note that your house is SSTC on the open market, but at an OIEO price very close to that of a cash buyer's offer, which of course is below market value. I do hope that highlights the issues and the severity, providing a bit more understanding of our position. We wish you all the best in the future and do genuinely hope your sale goes through without issue. Best wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

I'm reading their smug replies on here, an insult to your intelligence when they say "that doesn't sound like us". Well it is them. They are disgusting. I bought and did up a house with my inheritance. My dad taught me the skills to renovate and I put my money into my property and had a go at it. This company disgust me when thier website boasts about how their employees have an interest in property and the careers they offer are aimed at property enthusiats. Their company isn't anything to do with property, other than pocketing someone else's equity. I was hoping to start renovating houses but they smashed my hopes and ripped me off. The money they conned me out of was my wage and livelihood. I'm now unemployed, on benefits, renting a flat and feeding two young kids. High Street valuation £190,000. Tpbc paid me £107,000. I'm absolutely heartbroken that my life took a knock and TPBC were there to shaft me.

Reply from agent

Hi No Name, Sorry for the late reply - we often use Trustpilot as our main review platform. We can assure you that we are not trying to reply in a smug manner, generally there are a few reviews on the platform that we don't believe are left for our business, as there are quite a few businesses with similar names who we often mistakenly get reviews for. I don't have your specific case in front of me, but I can assure you that everyone at the company is very experience when it comes to the property industry. We also offer rigorous training, learning and development opportunities for staff. As for your valuation, the amount we paid in this scenario seems low on the face of it but the likelihood is that your opinion of the high street valuation didn't match the value that we received from the independent RICs survey, which our offer would have been reflective of. We're sorry that you've been disappointed by this, but it is completely no obligation and at any point you could have withdrawn from the sale. We in no way push or force people to sell to us, we simply offer a quick sale solution in return for a below market value rate. We wish you all the best in the future. Kind Regards, TPBC

1.00 /5

5 years after our traumatic dealings with the Property Buying Company, it is sad to see other people are still experiencing similar problems. Despite being repeatedly lied to by a number of employees about the sale, we were eventually told the valuation didn’t match what they expected. Funnily, the same estate agent had valued it much higher just the week before. They pulled out completely and then put us in touch with a 3rd party (who just happened to be the brother of an employee) and lo and behold he could offer us cash at a further discounted rate. By this point, after numerous delays, we felt committed to buying the house we had placed an offer on, and didn’t want to risk losing it. We felt trapped, cheated and conned. The Property Ombudsman agreed with us when they instructed for us to be paid some compensation. Sadly this in no way made up for what we lost. Avoid this company at all costs.

Reply from agent

Hi Andrew, I've tried to find out what I can about this, but it's from 2018 so maybe a little hazy, bare with me! Unfortunately in this scenario when we got the valuations back it didn't quite match what the value we thought it was worth was. Our offer was subject to the valuation, and therefore we couldn't proceed at this point because it didn't line up with the value you required. We did our best however to rescue your sale and put you in touch with a third party, which I believe managed to complete the purchase. We're truly sorry you feel let down & that you wouldn't consider our business in the future, but we honestly feel we did everything we could to get your property sold. Best wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

Avoid this company at all costs!!! They start off with the super smooth sales pitch from Gareth and then you get sucked in, then you get Adam with a ridiculously low offer after various reasons for delay to see if I would still accept. I declined their offer which they said I could and it’s now come to light they have put a unilateral notice on my property, which I was not aware of until new search on title! Do not sign any of there documents. If you are reading their reviews then perhaps lease save yourself from any grief and steer clear. I will continue to post on here every day until the unilateral notice is cancelled or resolved. I will go on every social media platform and continue to make sure people are warned about your business model approach. Please do not say I have the wrong company it’s definitely the property buying company, you all know who you are….Saleena Sreedharan

Reply from agent

Hello Saleena, You also left a review for us on Trustpilot, so we'll post our reply here for clarity: Hello Saleena, We would love to comment on the review and find out what exactly has happened during the process to make you feel this way, but when we requested further information unfortunately we haven't been given any so we have no record of your enquiry. We act for both the buyer and seller, we offer a quick sale solution at a below-market value rate, and we're always transparent about that - but with that being said, we aren't a non-profit organisation, and selling a house isn't like selling a loaf of bread, so sometimes we do have to make tough decisions like placing a unilateral notice on a property when an agreement is signed and broken as we do incur significant costs. We don't force you to sign anything at any point, and you are fully aware of all the conditions laid out in the contract. Again, we're unsure on what happened in this particular case, but if you could provide us with more information, we will happily respond specifically. Best wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

Booked a viewing but then the didn't bother cancelling it after they accepted an offer apparently. Didn't bother contacting me about it, I had to chase. Not the best experience with this estate agent really.

Reply from agent

Hi James, Are you sure this was meant for us? It could have been our sister company, The Property Selling Company, as we don't operate as an estate agent. Regardless, this shouldn't happen and we're sorry for the time wasted on your side. We're unsure why this occurred, was the viewing scheduled during our opening hours? I appreciate this was now a while ago, but we wanted to reply as way of apology. Best wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

Terrible customer service! Clear lack of care and an astonishing lack of communication

Reply from agent

Hello, We can't find any details in your name, could this review have been meant for a different company? There are quite a few with very similar names to ourselves. Please give us a call on 0800 024 8444 or email info@thepropertybuyingcompany.co.uk so we can try and investigate further. Kind Regards, TPBC

1.00 /5

Please stop harassing me to complete this.

Reply from agent

Sorry Chris or Mike, but we always try and get reviews from our customers - it really helps us improve our offering. But noted none the less!

1.00 /5

Took me all the way to point of sale with an agreed offer then backed out at the last second costing me valuable time. AVOID

Reply from agent

Hi Julian, We're sorry to hear that this happened - but sometimes buying property isn't always straight forward. We always try and get our pricing as accurate as we possibly can when we make our offer, but it is subject to independent RICs valuations, which came back on this occasion lower than we had expected. Regardless we wish you all the best on selling your property. Best wishes, TPBC

Contact details

Unknown

Opening hours

Unknown

Address

4 Deighton Cl, Wetherby, LS22 7GZ, UK, LS22

About

No about information available

Our team

No team information available

No memberships information available

No marketing information available

No awards information available

No memberships information available

No marketing information available

No awards information available