We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy & you agree to the site's terms & condition

The Property Buying Company

A selection of reviews/testimonials by highest rating
(in some cases, not all reviews/testimonials will be displayed)
1.00 /5

They seem to say the same thing to a lot of people. That they can’t find your details on their system. This is a con company. Avoid at all costs. They over promise and under deliver. You can never get through to anyone and they never call you back. They make an offer and drop it at the last minute using some non sense excuse, claiming that the value is a lot lower than what they first stated. Absolute joke of a company. Avoid !!!!!

Reply from agent

Hi Amit, Could you please elaborate on our service? We can't find your contact details in our system to call you around this. --------------------- It appears you've edited your review, and we've now been able to find you. Rest assured, the reason we ask for more details is not just to say it to everyone, it's actually to find out more detail about the situation. Not everyone's names on review platforms match exactly what we have in the system and we deal with hundreds of people on a daily basis, so as you can imagine, it can be quite hard to find people unless more details are provided. It appears like this happened back in September 2022, so we've tried to find out everything we can about it, but we've had a bit of a re-shuffle internally since and the person who was dealing with your case is no longer with us. In your specific situation it appears like we had several issues highlighted within the survey that just meant the property didn't value up to what we originally had hoped it would - so when the independent RICs survey came back, we had to adjust our offer in line with that. It's unfortunate and we're really sorry about that, but our offer is always subject to the survey lining up with our valuation. We try our best to be as accurate as possible on this, but sometimes we do get it wrong. Kind Regards, TPBC

1.00 /5

Would not recommend this company at all! From the start they offered certain amount for property then 3 weeks into the process knocked price down by £10,000. The process was only ment to take 4 weeks. 2 days before completion day, sent a courier to sign documents, then after signing get told documents was wrongly printed. Then on completion day we ring to see if all is ok to go ahead and get told it has all fallen through! So from start to finish shocking communication from them! Was always us contacting them! Always a hassle to actually speak to person who was dealing with it, the matter got passed from person to person so many times! The starting offer they gave us for the house was £35,000 below evaluation price! Only accepted for quick sale, now 6 weeks on due to there incompetence and unprofessionalism we are back to square one!! Update::::: The reply from the company.. you haven’t got a record from me as it’s in my husbands name. Give me and email or number to speak to you on, as I will gladly take the matter further due to how badly your company has acted!

Reply from agent

Hello Lucinda, This review does not sound like us. I've looked at all our records and we can't find you at all - I've spoken with the team and everyone you may have dealt with in the process but no one recalls this at all. Are you sure you meant to leave this review for ourselves, and not a company with a similar name? Kind Regards, TPBC

1.00 /5

Terrible service. No communication, and lack of concern for the sitting tenants. I have honestly never had worse service. After 7 months we have had to change agent

Reply from agent

Your feedback is essential to us improving our services. We take these concerns very seriously and will investigate the issues you've raised. We understand that a lack of communication and disregard for tenants is unacceptable. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to address it. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

1.00 /5

Dreadful communication, took until week before sale was due to take place that they couldn't go ahead unless I reduced the price by 35k. By then my tenant had left and with cost of obtaining docs already down £1100. Avoid at all costs!

Reply from agent

Hi Linda, We've answered several of your reviews in the past, and I believe you have since spoke with a director at the company which has hopefully changed your overall experience with us - as per your most recent Trustpilot review. Detailed: https://www.trustpilot.com/reviews/65f6992b669c8f2b9b092587 Wish you all the best, TPBC

1.00 /5

We were told that, if we dropped our price by 40k, the Property Buying Company would likely be able to get us a cash buyer within 2 weeks, who may not even want a survey on the house. This appealed to us because we're expecting a baby and our house sale (at £365k) had just fallen through as a result of the buyers' buyer pulling out. We only had 2 viewings in the 28 days we were under contract with this company. One was not a cash buyer. Neither made an offer. This company didn't seem to do any more than a normal estate agent - which was to take photos and put the house on Rightmove. They were difficult with us when we arranged a second viewing with a buyer who we had had to show round, accusing us of trying to go behind their backs. They were also difficult when we asked them to remove the house from the market after the 28 days were up. And now, everyone has seen our house listed for £329,950, so we feel this has made it very difficult for us to sell to a normal buyer in a chain for closer to what the house is actually worth. I would recommend avoiding them.

Reply from agent

Hi Fay, Yes we agreed to try and sell your property through our alternative route. The preference indicated was cash buyers only, but after discussing the situation with Simon it was also agreed that chain free buyers would be accepted. As you mention, we did only have the two viewers - three actually, but one decided to cancel as they couldn't find the property. One viewer liked the property but was still looking around, the other viewed the house then arranged another viewing with yourselves directly, and we asked this to go through us - which isn't being difficult, it just allows us to keep track of interest. And we do more than a normal estate agent. As well as a fact there's no fees, we also send your property to our investors but again there was no interest. We also didn't feel we where difficult at all around removal of the property from the market, you asked us too and we did within 24 hours. If you felt like this however, we can only apologise. As for the listing price, you indicated to us that you could only accept cash buyers or those not in a chain? Has that now changed? Either way, thank you for your custom and at least giving us a chance - it happens, we tried but couldn't sell your property and we're sorry about that, but at least it didn't cost you anything. We wish you all the best in the future. Team TPBC

1.00 /5

The only thing this company excel at is the dubious art of conning those who are desperate to sell their house. They claim they are waiting for reports, and then three days before completion, they claim that the house is worth 10% less than they originally offered. There is no way our house could have been worth this much less than offered, as it is only seven years old and there in nothing structurally or aesthetically wrong with it. We accepted an offer of £102k on a house that was worth roughly £120k, purely because we didn't want to evict our tenants, and the company claimed they'd buy the house with the tenants in. Three days before completion they rang to say they'd only give us £93k for the house, which fortunately we weren't desperate enough to have to accept. They basically rely on people having got themselves into a situation where they have to accept ludicrously low offers as their business model. Smarmy, deceitful and underhand, I don't know how Jordan can sleep at night, knowing the company for which he works is out to trap poor, desperate people into losing huge amounts of money. As mentioned, we didn't need to sell, but there will be other out there who aren't in as fortunate a situation as us, who will have no choice other then to accept the derisory with which they are presented at the last minute. I had received numerous emails asking me to review the Property Buying Company before their devious scheme was unveiled, but none afterwards. I can in no way recommend the Property Buying Company and would advise anyone thinking of selling a property to steer well clear of them.

Reply from agent

Hello, We think we've located your review, I believe you dealt with us back in April-22. I've looked through the notes and spoken to those involved. As was explained to you at the time, our offer is always subject to a RICs valuation, which is completely independent. This valuation came back at £110k. That valuation meant we had to amend our original offer and presented you with a finalised offer of £93k, which you rejected. We're sorry that the initial valuation we provided over the phone was higher than the value that came back with the survey, we do always try get it as close as we possible can. That being said, we whole heartedly disagree with your comments around being "smarmy, deceitful and underhanded". We are always clear from the first conversation that we are quick house sale service, and we are unable to offer full market value for a property - but in return, we'll get you moving fast. We don't trap or force people into accepting offer, or even use pressure sell tactics, and in fact most of our customers just simply want a quick sale in order to move on faster. As you weren't happy with our offer, we did try offer you alternative solutions as well, which you declined. There are times when we make mistakes and have to hold our hands up, and in this situation we're sorry that you weren't happy with the service, but we don't feel like we could have done much differently. We wish you all the best in the future. TPBC

1.00 /5
Reply from agent

Hi Lara, Sorry you had a bad experience? I think. I can't seem to find your details in the system so don't have any notes or information to understand the reasons behind the negative review. If you want to discuss it further, please email mathew@thepropertybuyingcompany.co.uk. Best wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

Not anything like they seem be aware very aware.

Reply from agent

Hi David, We're sorry that you had a bad experience, but we can't find your details anywhere on our system to find out what happened. Not too sure what you're getting at with the warning to other potential customers, we do pride ourselves with being up front and honest, and for the most part our reviews are positive across all of our platforms! Could you please email myself at mathew@thepropertybuyingcompany.co.uk so we can look into exactly what has happened & hopefully put things right! Kind Regards, TPBC

1.00 /5

Received an email that my property had been approved when I didn't sign up and have never heard of the company before.

Reply from agent

Hi Georgina, We're sorry that this happened, but in order for that email to be sent it means that your details where left through our online quote system. If it wasn't yourself, then somebody may be entering your details across the web. If you need us to remove you from our database then please provide us with your email address. You can do so by emailing mathew@thepropertybuyingcompany.co.uk. Best Wishes, TPBC

1.00 /5

No interest in them or their products whatsoever Tried to block them from txting me but still they carry on. If you like being persistently annoyed contact these guys!

Reply from agent

Hi Carey, We're sorry we seem to have been a bit of a pest! Sometimes we get data from a third party which may be how we acquired yours. If you want us to stop however, it's easy, just ask & we'll remove you from our database :) You can email mathew@thepropertybuyingcompany.co.uk & I'll be sure to remove your number. Best wishes, TPBC

Contact details

Unknown

Opening hours

Unknown

Address

4 Deighton Cl, Wetherby, LS22 7GZ, UK, LS22

About

No about information available

Our team

No team information available

No memberships information available

No marketing information available

No awards information available

No memberships information available

No marketing information available

No awards information available