A selection of reviews, highest rated first. Not every review may be shown.
I lived in an M&M property for a year.
Tried to make me sign the tenancy agreement without reading it, stating it was a template they always used before the real contract. …
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Eleanor,
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you felt the need to review us with … More
A relatively quick and painless experience from setting up a viewing to moving in, responsive staff (thanks Keanu) and very receptive to questions and issues. Made the whole process quite simple.
UPDATE: Upon living in our rental over the last 12 months since initial review was posted, M&M have been generally slow to respond on valid concerns and queries - currently have been waiting almost 8 weeks to a base response past 'we will look into it' since mid December. Disappointed.
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: UPDATE: Dear Ollie, Thank you for your latest review update and it is regretful to see you feel disappointed. Having investigated the original maintenance issue you reported on the 20th December 2021, it was confirmed with you on that date that the owner would attend to this issue in the New Year, which you were happy with. This was not an urgent issue and all parties agreed this was a reasonable course of action.
As of the 6th January 2022, a further three maintenance issues were reported by you. We are sorry these issues have taken longer to sort out than we would like. We don’t provide the maintenance for your property as your landlord does this himself. Sadly, he has been very unwell, and this has held things up. The items are not category one urgent but nevertheless, both he and us would want them dealt with faster. Thanks for your patience, we realise you would not have written your review had we kept you looped in on developments more frequently, sorry about that and I believe our team are in touch with you now to set some firm dates. In the meantime, if you need me, just shout at chrsitopher.hollins@mandmproperties.co.uk – Thanks Christopher Hollins – Lettings Manager.
M&M Properties
Very disappointing experience. I would not recommend MEM Properties.
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Susana,
We are sorry to see the review you have left after working with us on your application for a rented property.
As you are aware, the property was advertised as available from 6th October. You were also sent a confirmation email on the 14th August confirming the same.
The landlord then agreed to allow a move in date to take place mid-end October, and at the very latest 1st November, as this was requested by you due to your current rental property and the notice you had to provide.
There were also delays were with your reference checks, and the issues surrounding you providing information requested by the reference company and the issues surrounding your partners employment reference.
Once the reference checks passed, we requested the remaining deposit balance from you on the 7th of September, which you confirmed would be made. The follow day you emailed asking for the move date to be the 25th of November, because you didn’t want a big crossover in paying rent for two properties. I can only assume that you have not realised that you were required to serve two months’ notice on your current property, as you would have had a crossover period anyway. You then subsequently requested a move date in December.
As advised, the landlord could not delay the move in any longer than the 1st November, which was already an agreed extension to the original move in date. After which, you confirmed if writing that you no longer wished to proceed with the property.
In summary, it is disappointing to see that you have felt the need to leave a review of this nature when M&M have worked to resolve the issues presented by your reference checks and then your request to delay the move in by a significant amount of time, going against what had originally been agreed by all parties.
We wish you all the best in your property search.
Avoid this estate agent! The level of customer service is shocking and embarrassing.
I enquired about a property the day it came on the website, heard nothing back for nearly a week.
I enquired via their own website where it says “request a viewing” didn’t hear anything back.
I enquired on Rightmove, again didn’t hear anything. I then emailed and still not response. Called the office no answer.
I then left a 1* review and the manager emailed me the next morning. Gave excuses for the reason I had no contact, claiming they had lots of enquires across all properties. Is this a customer fault? You need to be able to provide a service and no response is shocking.
Cameron then called me after the managers email, we booked in a viewing at the property for 1145 on 15th August. I arrived and waited 15mins for the agent but they never arrived. No call, no message to let me know they were late or couldn’t find me etc (I was stood directly outside)
The current tenant then came out and spoke to me, they were aware I had the viewing so clearly it had been booked. Still no agent arrived and I even checked the back of the property too. Absolutely shocking service, I travelled 15 miles to view the property and they couldn’t even arrive themselves or make contact with me.
This is the worst estate agent I have ever dealt with and I would avoid at all costs!!!! I can now see why old tenants have left reviews regarding slow and poor service! AVOID!!!!!
I have attached the email I sent which the manager claims they never received.
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Harry,
Thank you for your review, which of course is disappointing to see.
We had 5 viewings scheduled at the property, all at 15 minutes intervals starting from 10.45am to your viewing at 11.45am.
My team member that attended the viewings, confirmed that the first 4 viewings all showed up at the relevant times and the viewings took place. The viewing at 11.45am did not turn up. My team member was there at the property until 12.05pm, as we always wait 15 minutes, when time allows, in case viewers are delayed due to traffic etc but no one arrived.
I have also spoken with the tenants who reside in the property that you were due to view, as they were present for all the viewings. They have confirmed that the first 4 viewings showed up, but the last viewing, which was your viewing, no one showed up and that my team member waited until 12.05pm. They also confirmed that they did not speak with any viewers waiting outside the property as you have claimed.
The office did not receive any calls from you to state you were waiting at the property to view. If you had been at the wrong property for example, then we would have been able to establish this and direct you to the correct property.
As outlined in our previous communication, prior to this review, your enquiry last week had been marked as called incorrectly. I was only aware of this due to you leaving a review online last week, as we hadn’t received any further emails from you or a phone call in relation to your enquiry. As you have correctly pointed out, you were then emailed by myself and called by Kamran, a viewing scheduled and received an apology for the error on our behalf in relation to your enquiry being marked as called incorrectly.
To summarise, and given the information provided by both my team member and tenant that lives at the property, I do not believe M&M are at fault for your missed viewing.
I wish you good luck in your search for a property.
Chris Hollins
Branch Manager
Unfortunately, my experience with this letting agency was very disappointing. I applied for three different properties and did not receive a response within a reasonable timeframe. Every time I contacted the agency, I was told they were still waiting to hear back from the landlord.
For the first property, I only found out after about six weeks that it had already been let. In fact, if I hadn't called the agency myself a few days ago, I don't think I would have received any update at all. I was simply told that the landlord had chosen another applicant. The same happened with the other two properties, where I received the same response only after several weeks.
I understand that landlords have the final decision and that properties can be let quickly, but I expected much better communication and more timely updates from the agency. As a prospective tenant, it was frustrating to have to chase for updates repeatedly, only to eventually be told that the properties had gone to someone else. The lack of proactive communication left me questioning whether my applications were ever being properly followed up. Unfortunately, this experience left me with a very negative impression.
Unfortunately, my experience with this letting agency was very disappointing. I applied for three different properties and did not receive a response within a reasonable timeframe. Every time I contacted the agency, I was told they were still waiting to hear back from the landlord.
For the first property, I only found out after about six weeks that it had already been let. In fact, if I hadn't called the agency myself a few days ago, I don't think I would have received any update at all. I was simply told that the landlord had chosen another applicant. The same happened with the other two properties, where I received the same response only after several weeks.
I understand that landlords have the final decision and that properties can be let quickly, but I expected much better communication and more timely updates from the agency. As a prospective tenant, it was frustrating to have to chase for updates repeatedly, only to eventually be told that the properties had gone to someone else. The lack of proactive communication left me questioning whether my applications were ever being properly followed up. Unfortunately, this experience left me with a very negative impression.
Unfortunately, my experience with this letting agency was very disappointing. I applied for three different properties and did not receive a response within a reasonable timeframe. Every time I contacted the agency, I was told they were still waiting to hear back from the landlord.
For the first property, I only found out after about six weeks that it had already been let. In fact, if I hadn't called the agency myself a few days ago, I don't think I would have received any update at all. I was simply told that the landlord had chosen another applicant. The same happened with the other two properties, where I received the same response only after several weeks.
I understand that landlords have the final decision and that properties can be let quickly, but I expected much better communication and more timely updates from the agency. As a prospective tenant, it was frustrating to have to chase for updates repeatedly, only to eventually be told that the properties had gone to someone else. The lack of proactive communication left me questioning whether my applications were ever being properly followed up. Unfortunately, this experience left me with a very negative impression.
Over the past 2 months, I have applied for more that 7 different rental properties through your agency. On every occasion, I have been told that the landlord has not responded, and I have not received any clear decision or meaningful update.
I find this pattern very concerning. I have spent two months waiting without any clear outcome, despite following your application process each time.
As a foreign national, I am becoming concerned that I may not be receiving fair treatment. I would like you to explain how my applications have been handled and confirm that I have not been disadvantaged because of my nationality or any other protected characteristic.
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Mihaela,
Thank you for your review. However, we do not have your name down in relation to any properties you have viewed or applied for? Please reach out to myself on the email below with the information in relation to the properties you are referring too if this is in fact in relation to M&M Properties Lettings Leighton Buzzard and I can investigate this for you. If this review has been posted in error against the wrong company, I would kindly ask you to remove it, as it doesn’t relate to us.
Whilst writing and for clarity, all applications submitted by tenants are presented to a landlord for their decision. Nationality does not disadvantage an application. Tenants of course must pass strict referencing criteria in terms of income, affordability, credit checks, landlord references etc, but these criteria’s are not determined by nationality.
Kind Regards
Chris Hollins
Chris.hollins@mandmproperties.co.uk
We have rented for the last 15+ years in 3 different countries and M&M Properties are by far the worst estate agent we have ever dealt with. They refuse to give you a long term lease, not only do they refuse long leases they don’t even tell …
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Richard,
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to learn that your experience with M&M … More
Poor handling of move in. Flat not clean to a new tenancy standard, marks everywhere, no help from agency. Couldn’t guarantee another clean soon enough to move in so I have chosen to clean myself and consider this from a legal standpoint. Why can’t estate agents be human and just help people out with simple requests rather than argue their point?
Reply from M & M Properties - Leighton Buzzard: Dear Alexandra, thank you for your review.
It is disappointing to read your comments. Having reviewed the file I am glad to see that your application was accepted, reference checks completed and move in date confirmed within 24 hours of viewing the apartment. It is pleasing to see that you were very happy with the process too in your emails to Thomas McCormick.
I can see that you viewed the property whilst vacant in the condition that you were due to receive it in apart from the fact a professional carpet clean was carried out to the carpets and a professional clean to the areas the previous tenant missed after you viewed it. Both invoices were provided to you to confirm this. I can see Thomas arranged for the cleaning company to re-visit the property, as a gesture of goodwill, to attend to the areas you were not happy with. However, this was refused by you.
Unfortunately, due to the changes in the law with the tenant fee act 2019 an agent or landlord cannot enforce professional cleaning unless it is deemed necessary, hence the areas only needing to be cleaned were done as part of the ex-tenants checkout. The inside of door frames and window frames generally are not cleaned as part of an end of tenancy clean by the cleaning company, but this is a point I can raise with them.
I’m aware that you did not move into the property until almost two weeks after the tenancy started and therefore some dust and cobwebs in door frames will likely accumulate naturally in that time, along with the arrival of some insects (bugs/spiders) , this is common to see in a vacant property.
As we mentioned, you viewed the property vacant, the condition of the decoration would have been accepted as viewed and there were never any concerns raised from you post viewing about decoration being needed nor was it deemed needed by our check in / out team. The marks you show are wear and tear.
I’m satisfied that Thomas has acted accordingly when dealing with your concerns, and even sourced the cleaner to attend as a goodwill gesture to allay your concerns.
I hope that you have now settled fully into the property and can start enjoying your new home to its full.
Chris Hollins
Branch Manager