Skip to content

Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington

17 High Street, Torrington, Devon, EX38 8HN, South West, UK, EX38

Claimed branch
4.6 741 reviews

Recent reviews

A selection of reviews, highest rated first. Not every review may be shown.

Kaylan Google

Absolutely terrible service here especially from the team leader Sophie. They found me the worst tenants possible who trashed my house. I can get past that but the service from this team is the worst part. They charge you finders fee and management fees however a tenant breaks the contract and leaves early and there is no support. Instead they want to charge you again for finding another tenant. Nobody comes back to you have to constantly chase them for updates. I would not use them if it was a free service again.

Bianca Caiza Google

Extremely disappointed with our experience. We initially offered £460,000 on a property which was rejected before increasing our offer to £485,000 the same day. We were then told the sellers wanted time to think because there was another offer on the table and that they wanted to honour the other buyers' second viewing before making a decision. We were told we would receive an update on the Monday. On Monday, we were informed that the sellers had decided to proceed with the other buyer. When my husband asked what our position was and whether we had any options, we were told that Friday had been the deadline for best and final offers. This was the first time we had heard anything about a best and final deadline. At no stage during the negotiations were we told that Friday would be the final opportunity to submit our highest offer. We were simply told the sellers wanted time to consider both offers after the Saturday viewing and would update us on Monday. Had we been given the same information, we would have approached the process very differently. When I raised these concerns with Tony, the Evaluations Manager, they were dismissed. Rather than acknowledging that this crucial information had never been communicated to us, he became defensive and focused solely on the fact that we hadn't increased our offer sooner completely missing the point. To make matters even more confusing, after being told on Monday that the sellers had accepted another offer, we asked whether we could increase ours to £491,000. We were told that doing so would be "morally incorrect" because the sellers had already accepted an offer. It is therefore difficult to understand how we can simultaneously be criticised for not increasing our offer sooner, yet also be told it would have been morally wrong to increase it once we were finally made aware of the supposed best and final process. We weren't asking for special treatment. We simply expected a transparent, fairly managed process where all serious buyers were given the same information at the same time. Whether or not we would have secured the property is beside the point. The lack of transparency, inconsistent communication and dismissive handling of our concerns have left us with very little confidence in this agency's professionalism.

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: We understand how disappointing it is to miss out on a property, particularly in a competitive situation where there are multiple interested parties. In this case, the seller received more than one offer and ultimately chose to proceed with a buyer who had submitted a higher offer following their initial viewing, and later confirmed their position after a second visit. All offers, including your revised offer submitted after the weekend, were presented to the seller for consideration. We note your concerns regarding communication around the process. Our approach is always to ensure buyers are kept informed and given the opportunity to put forward the strongest offer they are comfortable with. At no point were you prevented from increasing your offer, and you did so again after the weekend. We are confident that the process was handled appropriately, although we will reflect on your feedback regarding communication. We wish you the very best and would be more than happy to support you further with your property search.
Robert Wealthall Google

Rented a while back Seraph and had a poor experience. There was miscommunication over parking from the start, followed by bathroom and leak issues from January through to June that required repeated chasing and repair attempts. The situation was very stressful to live with, and the only compensation offered was £30 for poor communication. I would not rent through them again.

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take all feedback seriously, but after checking our records, we cannot find any evidence that we manage your property. It is possible there may be a mix-up with the managing agent. We would love to help you get this sorted, if you could please reach out to us at info@seraph.pm with your property details, we would be happy to look into this further and help you identify the correct managing agent for your building.
Stefan Mieszek Google

I did a lot of research before switching, and the reviews for AgentOS were decent. It seems that since then, its all gone downhill - our experiences seem to match others which are similar. Main issues: 1. No support whatsoever once you're onboarded. Phones are never answered, emails are rarely responded to and when they are its a 4-5 day lead time. If you have a problem that is stopping you advertising a property or paying a landlord, you're going to be stuck and people are going to be calling you angry. 2. The data import was expensive and awful - a bunch of our stuff was added but with details wrong, included tenancies not signed, percentage fees wrong, etc. We were told AgentOS would handle the import, which they did, we were also told they'd be on hand afterwards to help us fix problems that arose. They weren't. The agent we were assigned to help us with the transfer basically told us they were done and to contact support - who as stated don't reply. 3. Setting up the portals (Zoopla and Rightmove) took nearly 2 months, despite repeated chasing by both us and the portals. AgentOS sat on their part for a while and never really explained anything. 4. They missed the deadline for setting it up. Our software had a cutoff date, which we rolled past and had to make do for a while. 5. Training is a bit subpar, in that there really isn't anything formal besides online documentation. What they do well: 1. The system has an API that you can access quite easily using node, something that I've had a lot of fun with personally but then I'm a nerd. 2. It genuinely is all cloud based, and a lot of stuff can be automated (provided you know how to code automation using APIs) 3. They forget to bill you sometimes We're signed in for 2 years, I'm considering rocking the boat to see if we can get out early but at the same time if it settles into a rhythm it might not be necessary. I'm just aware that this has cost a lot of sleepless nights for multiple people at the business, and has also cost us a lot of business in terms of Landlords complaining about being charged the wrong amounts, not getting their rents, or their properties not being advertised promptly. If you're looking for an easy switch, I'd be tempted to look away from this one and perhaps look towards a PSG offering (Alto, Jupix, etc). EDIT: AgentOS have responded to my review (Ironically faster than they responded to a support ticket on these issues) and a lot of their comments are fair. 1. Some of the issues that arose from onboarding were related to our source data, but the ones we're specifically trying to resolve weren't. Specifically the management fees - which in some cases have been changed to random figures that don't match our source data. In one example, the source data says 5%, it was originally put at 5%, then as part of an attempt to repair it was changed to 10%. This is the owner of the business, they've never paid 10%. There are a few issues like this where the issue doesn't match the original data, these are the ones that I think prospective clients should be aware of. 2. The pace of the onboarding wasn't the issue so much as the pace of the import. We supplied data on 16th March (off the top of my head, maybe a day or two out), wanted to be live "Before April", discussed with Ian that we'd want to be live a week ro so before, but the import was done on March 31st. We can see that our end. 3. The trainer spent a lot of time with us, but we did pay for 5 hours so I'm not really sure why this is relevant. If there was a formal system we weren't able to get it - we actually emailed asking for formal training on specific days and never got a response. 4. To be clear, while I think the on-boarding could be better, it wouldn't be nearly as problematic if we were able to obtain support. Phonecalls go unanswered, emails go unresponded, and the fact that it took nearly 2 months to get the portals up and running sort of evidences this. We've lost business and instructions because of AgentOS's poor support service. If things improve I will adjust this review.

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: Thank you for sharing your experience — we're genuinely sorry to hear the transition hasn't felt as smooth as we'd have hoped, and we understand how stressful a system switch can be. We do want to offer some context, not to dismiss your concerns, but because we think it paints a fuller picture. Our trainer spent a significant amount of time with your team from the very start - across recorded sessions, Teams calls, and ad hoc support. A full structured programme was available, and we were happy to work around your team's preference to prioritise accounts training first, with the plan to return to other areas in due course. Our trainer made clear throughout that she remained available, and did follow up as recently as the end of April - we'd love to pick that back up. The pace of the onboarding was something we worked hard to match to your timeline. We understood the urgency and did everything we could to accommodate it, though we were open at the time that moving quickly can sometimes mean issues surface that need working through afterwards. On the data import, our team worked through a number of issues with you and remained on hand to help resolve them. Some of the discrepancies were rooted in the source data, but we understand that doesn't make it any less frustrating to deal with on your side. We're still very much here and would genuinely welcome the chance to speak with you directly to get things into a better place. Please don't hesitate to get in touch.
Kieran Mckenna Google

I had a very disappointing experience with the Chatham branch of Robinson Michael Jackson. Communication throughout my transaction was non existent, and there was a lack of consideration for my position in the transaction. The process felt rushed at the end due to earlier delays that were not of my making. Based on my experience, I found the service to be unprofessional, terribly managed, and not supportive of the client.

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: Hi Kieran, We have no record of you on our system and have not previously been contacted by you regarding this matter. Please contact us at Chatham@robinson-jackson.com with further details and we’ll be happy to look into this for you. RMJ Chatham
Omar Dahoud Google

Do not use this company for any residential transactions. Absolutely shocking!!

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: Hello Omar, We are sorry to hear this feedback - We do not have any record of you on our system therefore cannot see what this could be regarding. Please contact us on Chatham@robinson-jackson.com to deal with this matter further. RMJ Chatham
Shai-Malik Guthrie Google

I had a very disappointing experience with the Chatham branch of Robinson Michael Jackson, specifically with the handling of my purchase by Kiran. As a first-time buyer, I made every effort to carry out proper due diligence, including requesting a second viewing shortly after my offer was accepted. This was not facilitated for several months, despite multiple requests, and even after I had already paid for a survey. This delay meant that when I was finally able to revisit the property, it was very late in the process and close to the seller’s intended completion date. During the second viewing, I identified an issue that required further inspection by a builder, which I had to arrange at short notice and additional cost due to the delays. When raising this, I was met with an unhelpful and dismissive response, being told that my surveyor “should have picked it up,” despite the fact the survey had been carried out months earlier. When I attempted to renegotiate based on professional advice, I felt significant pressure was applied due to the seller’s timeline, culminating in being told “we will not be doing business with you.” This came across as highly unprofessional and inappropriate, particularly given my position in the chain as a first-time buyer. Communication throughout was poor, and there was a lack of consideration for my position in the transaction. The process felt rushed at the end due to earlier delays that were not of my making. I will say that Sam, the branch manager, did step in and made a genuine effort to resolve matters, which I appreciated. However, this does not outweigh the overall experience. Based on my experience, I found the service to be unprofessional, poorly managed, and not supportive of a buyer acting in good faith.

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: Hi Shai, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with aspects of your experience. Property transactions can involve multiple parties and timelines that are not always within our direct control, and we do aim to facilitate access and communication as efficiently as possible. However, we regret that in this instance you felt delays and communication fell short of expectations, as this is not the standard we strive to uphold. Your feedback has been noted and will be reviewed with the team. We do appreciate your recognition of Sam’s efforts to assist and will ensure this is shared. RMJ Chatham
Debbie Moss Google

Like many long-standing customers, we have relied on this software for over 12 years. As mentioned previously, the customer service was once excellent; however, its quality has noticeably declined over the last year or so. I presume this was due to the recent exodus of a number of the key staff. Our primary concern now is the apparent shift in focus toward introducing numerous bolt-ons, presumably to drive additional revenue, at the expense of maintaining and improving the stability of the core system. Today, we once again experienced significant slowdowns at the start and end of the working day, which directly disrupted our operations and prevented us from working efficiently. We previously attempted to transition to an alternative provider, but due to the poor structure and limited export capabilities of the backend data, we were unable to extract critical information. This ultimately resulted in a failed migration attempt. We would welcome a renewed focus on system performance, reliability, and data portability, as these are fundamental to our confidence in the platform which, I'm afraid to say at the moment is at an all time low. update 3/3/26 System down again - 3rd time in the last 2 weeks it has been unresponsive. We haven't been able to do anything for 10 minutes so far and of course can't get through to the support team. It's time Glen realised how badly these outages are affecting our businesses and turns his attention back from making as much money as he can to keeping his core system working - before he loses swathes of his existing customers. Which he will. So many of us are fed up right now.

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: Hi Debbie, Thank you for your honest feedback — 12 years with us means a lot, and we genuinely value your loyalty. Performance issues are unusual for us, and we're sorry you've experienced some recently — our track record over 12 years speaks for itself. We're in a period of transition, but we're committed to getting back to our best. We've recently appointed a new Operations Manager and are expanding our support team to bring service levels back to the standard you'd expect from us. We're confident you'll start to see those improvements reflected in your day-to-day experience.
Jamie “J.” Google

Reply from Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington: We believe this review to be false as we have no Jamie’s in our software, emails or call library 🥰 …

About Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington

Webbers Estate Agents Great Torrington office

Webbers Torrington, located in the heart of Great Torrington, North Devon, serves as a central hub for property expertise. Our friendly and approachable team is dedicated to guiding clients through buying, selling, or renting homes in the picturesque region. Offering personalised services, we cater to the unique needs of first-time homebuyers, experienced investors, and those considering property sales. The office provides an extensive property listing, featuring a diverse range of homes from charming cottages to spacious family residences, making it a one-stop destination for individuals exploring properties for sale or selling their homes in the area.

Website: https://www.webbers.co.uk/offices/estate-and-letting-agents-in-torrington-north-devon/

Memberships and portals

Association of Residential Letting Agents Guild of Professional Estate Agents National Association of Estate Agents Property Ombudsman Sales Property Ombudsman Lettings Relocation Agent Network Tenancy Deposit Scheme onthemarket rightmove Zoopla

Marketing

  • Email / E-shot
  • Floor Plan
  • For Sale / To Let Board
  • Newspaper / Magazine
  • 360 Photography
  • Professional Photos
  • Smart Viewing
  • Social Media Campaign
  • Video
  • Virtual Reality
  • Accompanied Viewings
  • Sales Progression
  • Manage / Negotiate
  • Windows Display
  • Property Brochure

Awards

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy & you agree to the site's terms and conditions